Present Me is pathetic

After working like a madwoman for 11 weeks straight, I’m four working days away from my first holiday for 2013.

Before you get all happy for me, I have to say that this isn’t the holiday I had originally planned.

Back in December, when I requested to have a week’s break in March, The Boyfriend promised me a holiday in the Canary Islands, which is perfect, because it’s always warm there and I wanted a lazy beach holiday thrown in with the occasional hike or two.

But no. No. No. No.

The Boyfriend couldn’t get March off. So what do I do?

Travel on my own? Go back home to visit my parents and friends? Or hang out at the city where The Boyfriend works (a boring one if you are a tourist by the way) and be a loser?

I chose… option three.

I’m ashamed of myself. I really am. Old Me from a few years back would give Present Me a big slap on the face. “WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!” she would scream and yell and kick at Present Me in protest.

“But… I’m in a long distance relationship. I barely get to see my boyfriend…” Present Me would say hesitantly.

Don’t I sound like a Class A loser? I mean, c’mon, C’MON!!

So, instead of spending the WHOLE holidays hanging my head in shame, I’ve already planned things for us to do. Hiking in the north on our first weekend. Paris on our second. We are going to go places even if we’ve been there before, and BE TOURISTS GOD DAMN IT!!!

And not to mention, our second year anniversary is around the corner. When I say “around the corner”, I really mean half a month away, but I do like to plan in advance.

So… the next question is: what did you get your other half for your anniversary? I need ideas, STAT!

Leave a Reply

