2012 – A beautiful year

I’ve been away for a while, but I’ve always been around.

The past few months have been hectic with work, travelling and the festive season. I can’t believe how quickly time has flown by and that the Christmas holidays I have been looking forward to are sadly over!

Here are some of my favourite memories from 2012:

Walks in the snow. We didn’t have a cold winter for 2011-2012, so we went out to play when it snowed!

5feb12_5

Valentine’s Day. I prepared a surprise for The Boyfriend on Valentine’s Day and we had a great day together, even though it was a work day. But as I told him, every day with him is like Valentine’s day. 🙂

IMG_0388_processed

Easter. Visiting The Boyfriend’s family and enjoying trips to small towns and walks along the vineyards

IMG_0514

Flying. Going on our first flying lesson was very scary! It was a thrilling experience and the minutes passed like seconds.IMG_0646 - Copy

Scotland in June. We were having a toss up between Paris and Scotland, and we were glad to have chosen Scotland (we’ve been to Paris before, but never to Scotland). Long drives along the Scottish countryside and scenic views of rolling mountains, lakes, farms, distilleries, castles and our short stay in Edinburgh made our vacation feel longer than it was.IMG_0876

New York City in July. Nothing quite ever feels complete without a city trip, which was what we did when we spent time together in New York. It was fun to do all the touristy stuff again, and equally fun to spend time cycling around Central Park, going to lesser known places and discovering little pockets of gems around the city.IMG_1506

London 2012. The Olympic games were an amazing experience and I was very glad to have witnessed it live.IMG_1781

Frankfurt. The Boyfriend moved over for work, so I have never visited Frankfurt more times in a year than I have this year. I think I have visited Germany about 10 times now, 5 times of which occurred this year, and I was happy every time because I knew that I was going to see the person I love. One of the many things I like about Germany is their Christmas markets though, which is just an explosion of little shops peppered with toys, food, carrousels, mulled wine and the delicious waft of freshly made waffles and crepes.

IMG_1916

Zurich. I must have chalked up so many miles as a “retail” traveller because The Boyfriend and I spent time together in Zurich as well. (I’m guessing you realise why I suddenly disappeared from this blog with all this travelling!) I love Switzerland. Period. I have been there more times than I can remember and have lived there for a period of my life and to be honest I have never seen another country like it. It’s just pure beauty, and I love the local Swiss, who are and have always been patient, friendly and very nice!

IMG_2017

Our birthdays & celebrating Christmas together. Our birthdays are pretty close to Christmas and we celebrated them together, which was nice. It was different to celebrate it with his family (my family doesn’t celebrate Christmas, we celebrate Chinese New Year). We both had a lot of fun, and I enjoyed the time we spent together and all the treats we had lined up for each other.

IMG_2115

2012 has been good to me. It wasn’t an eventful year, but I didn’t ask for one, so I am really happy about that! Hopefully we will have a nice New Year’s Eve together too with no fuss – just some peace and quiet to ourselves.

From my family to yours, I’m wishing you a happy and joyous New Year!

Leave a Reply

