1 Year in London

As of today, I have been living in London for exactly a year, and I marvel at how quickly time has passed and how it has already been a year. I’ve officially taken myself out of my parents’ payroll and I’m a fully self-sufficient adult; I’ve paid my bills, my rent, my food, my clothes and shopping and my travels for one year, and have some change to spare. Incredible. I never knew that I could be this independent.

Living in London has been an incredible, amazing dream. I’ve lived in a couple of cities and while cities like New York is something you fall in love with immediately, London is a love affair that grows with time. Sure, there are some bad hair days which are less than ideal (especially a few crazies on the tube), but the whole experience of living abroad has been exactly what I was looking for. I don’t think the reality that I’m living in this city has really hit me yet. A month ago I had a sleepover at a good friend’s place, and when I left the next day, I passed by Westminster and a ton of tourists enjoying the beautiful day outdoors and thought, Wow, this city is my home. And even though my hometown is more than 10,000 km away from here, I don’t feel like my family and friends are that far away as people are always here to visit.

I have to admit though that my decision to move wasn’t very well thought out. Like all things that I do, I knew I wanted it without really weighing the pros and cons of it. I do have a few friends here even prior to moving here, and I never really figured out how I was going to make new friends and assimilate into the local culture but it all worked out in the end so I am glad. 🙂 I guess having my boyfriend here works too. 🙂

I think the best thing in life that you can possibly get from being in London is that you will never be bored. There are so many free/cheap things to do, and there’s always something happening. From spending the day at a park to wandering around streets to watching performers at Covent Garden and experiencing the Olympics here, I feel so incredibly blessed.

Literally, tonight, I watched the fireworks from the Olympic stadium by just peeking out of my flat’s window.

London, I’m so in love with you, and I hope my 2nd year here will be even better.

Leave a Reply

