London 2012: I was there

When Paris lost the bid to London for the 2012 Olympics, I felt their pain and wondered why they didn’t win. I felt like they deserved to win, primarily because they seemed so much more passionate. Oh, to see their sad French faces.

But aren’t I mighty glad now that I have made the unprecedented decision to move to London

Getting Olympics tickets is harder than getting a golden ticket to Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory. So you can imagine my excitement when my friend told me that he managed to get tickets. TICKETS!! He said. “Mine!” I yelled.

And there we were, right in the middle of a once in a lifetime experience.

Oh London, a very good morning to you too.

It wasn’t that bad to get to the venue itself – I just tubed it and reached fairly quickly without having to wait for the next train.

The Basketball Arena where we watched Canada vs Australia and USA vs China. Team USA!! (I’m still experiencing side effects from my New York trip)

The whole Olympic park was pretty big – about 2.5 square kilometres or 30 football pitches big. It took us about 30-45 minutes to get from the entrance to the basketball arena as we were distracted by quite a number of things along the way… like a huge McDonalds.

One of the matches – we sat right at the back but still had a great view and enjoyed ourselves!

Michael Phelps swam in this place. In. This. Building. (Yes, I’m Team Phelps too. Ugh!! I am so bummed that I didn’t get any tickets to watch swimming.

The lawn where you can watch live screenings of the Olympics while sun tanning and sprawled out on grass.

What can I say? The Olympic Stadium, also known as The Place I Want to Get In. When I walked past it, there were huge cheers and a lot of shouting and screaming and I wanted to be right there in the midst of all that action.

I will try for tickets!!

2 thoughts on “London 2012: I was there

  1. You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation however I to find this topic to be really one thing which I think I’d by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and very extensive for me. I’m taking a look ahead in your next post, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of it!

Leave a Reply

