Jazz, coffee and eggs benedict

This week has been so tiring – I usually detest going out on week nights (unless it includes friends/the Boyfriend), because it usually means that I have to go to a work related night out and given that I have to wake up at 6.30am to get to work, a night out isn’t fun.

The Boyfriend and I managed to spend a night out midweek at a jazz event – a couple of years ago when I came to London, Mom and I discovered this place with good jazz music. This time, my favourite band, The Red Stripe, was playing so we had to go. Just had to. I love this band, love their music, love the general positivity of jazz. It’s an absolutely great way to wind down after a long day at work too.

It was the first weekend that the Boyfriend and I could go out in ages (finally – after all his busy weekends!) but London chose to rain on us. I call it the London curse. Or just our curse. Something, somewhere, someone out there just doesn’t like us. Whenever we want to go out, it rains.

We couldn’t go out again on Sunday because of his work and the sun shone brightly.

This is unfair.

Given that I missed St Patrick’s day parade, we made up for it by checking out the Westfield shopping centre at Stratford. Yes, it’s a bit far north/east, but I thought it would be a great idea given that it was raining.

After checking out a couple of stores, we got tired. There were so many food places around too – we had to check one of them out. We settled by a coffee bar.

Yeah, sorry for the bad shot. I just took one and moved my hands slightly – given that it was taken on the iPhone which always has a crappier camera than a digital one, this was the best I got. Oops. We ended up having cappuccino (him) and hot chocolate (me – I’m crazy about chocolate).

We also decided to have eggs benedict. I’ve never tried them before, but I’ve heard many people who did who like them, so I thought why not give it a shot?

It was such a bad mistake. It was so good, so, so good, and so, so sinfully delicious. Whoever who invented hollandaise sauce is a genius.

Leave a Reply

