Blueberry Cheesecake with Almonds

The Boyfriend has to work at home over the next two weekends, and I don’t really want to go out without him. Sure, there are my friends and colleagues, but it’s just not the same. Weekdays are for them. Weekends are for the Boyfriend.

Sometimes, I feel bored.

I feel more bored when the weather outside is great and I want to go to a farm, but the Boyfriend is at home. He encourages me to go out but I want to spend time with him. I want to do something… I need to channel my energy into something…

And that’s how I started baking.

I got tired of baking muffins so I thought I’d teach myself how to bake a blueberry cheesecake. I love cheesecakes. Mmm. I hate cheese though. Ergh.

So you can imagine how I felt after dinner yesterday night when I had absolutely nothing to do. I’m a workaholic. I’m a kitchen-holic. I needed to do something.

What you need:

Soured cream, 150ml
600g cream cheese – I had to lick them a little. I love cream cheese bagels.
4 eggs
50g butter
Lady fingers (not pictured) – about 12-15 of them, or 300g crunchy digestive biscuits
200g sugar
350g blueberries – replace them with raspberries, oreo cookies or anything else you want on top of your cake
1 tea spoon vanilla (forgot to add this earlier in the post!)

The best part of this whole thing is… I don’t have a food processor. I am my own food processor. How’s that for a start? I started out with lady fingers and then I did this:

I chopped up the lady fingers into small portions. If you do have a food processor though, just pulse the fingers until they’re all small and crumbly. Add a bit of sugar. Add all of the 50g melted butter goodness and you’d start to want to eat it.

Don’t.

Place the lady fingers and melted butter mix onto a springform pan and make sure they’re evenly spread out. Use the bottom of a cup or spoon to press them nice and firm together. Pop it into a 180 degrees (celsius) oven for about 5 minutes and then take it out.

Meanwhile, mix all 600g of cream cheese. That’s right. Don’t go licking it like I did. Just beat them together until they’re nice and soft… if they’re too hard to beat together, get your boyfriend to do it or a mixer. Then add in all the sugar. Oh yes. And then add 1 tea spoon vanilla – the Boyfriend likes vanilla, so he added two. After that, add the eggs one at a time, and then finally the sour cream. Beat them all up! And then pour them into the springform pan and chuck it into the oven for 40 minutes.

With all that mojo happening in the oven, dump all your blueberries into a pot and add about 7 tablespoons water. Cook them over medium heat for five minutes, or until the water is a little purple and the berries are softened.

We used a pot here cos our pan was in the dishwasher. Anyway.

After 40 minutes, take your cake out and let it cool a little. Let your blackberries cool a little, too. First, sprinkle almonds all over the cake. This is optional – the Boyfriend opted for this because he loves almonds, and so do I.

I didn’t add a picture of the almonds over the cake cos I’m such a goldfish.

Pour the blueberries all over your cake and then chuck it into the fridge for a good two to three hours. In our case, we left it in there overnight so we could have blueberry cheesecake for breakfast. Yes, that’s how we roll.

Just yesterday, my colleague asked how I managed to not be horizontal with all this baking and eating that I’m doing.

I go to the gym four times a week, d’oh!

4 thoughts on “Blueberry Cheesecake with Almonds

Leave a Reply

