An Embarrassing Tale about Baking Powder (and the recipe to Choc Muffins)

Following the lemon and poppy seed saga, I was proud of myself for two things. It was my first attempt at making muffins and I thought I did a pretty good job. It seemed almost too easy, in fact. Also, the Boyfriend thought I did a great job, and you know what praise does to people. He said I am perfect. (On the cue of three now, one, two, three…. Awwww…)

I thought my lemon and poppy seed muffins weren’t “boom” enough, which in proper English means that I thought they didn’t have that muffin top that I’d like them to have. Possessed by a groundless belief that I am a good amateur baker, I went on to do the following:

My fridge had 1 lemon, a pack of poppy seeds, a chocolate bunny left over from Christmas, sugar, flour, milk and a dozen eggs.

I didn’t have enough lemons for a batch of 12 lemon muffins, so I thought, why not make 6 chocolate muffins and 6 lemon and poppy seed muffins?

I was too brave. Wanting my muffins to have the world’s greatest muffin top, I dumped in baking powder. Dumped. Yes, you heard me. Dump. Somehow, my math failed me. For my previous batch of lemon muffins, I used 2 tsp baking powder for 12 muffins. To make them more “boom”, I should have used 4 tsp baking powder for 12 muffins. This time, I used 4 tsp baking powder for 6 muffins, which meant that I was quadrupling the amount of baking powder needed, instead of doubling it.

I generously added in ingredients, wanting everything to be great. And when I chucked the muffin tray into the oven, I felt happy.

Until I saw this two minutes into baking:

The pastry started dripping and I thought my muffins were going to be ruined. I started screaming and told the Boyfriend that I screwed up and I don’t know what to do about the muffins. “They’re dripping, they’re dripping!” I yelled.

The Boyfriend just opened the oven and ate all the dripping pastry. That’s my hero.

The muffins turned out fine – there wasn’t any hint of too much baking powder used, but I know better now. The Boyfriend took a bite into the chocolate muffins and couldn’t stop eating it. The crunchiness of the biscuits, mixed with the chocolate bits and poppy seeds is soooo good.

I used whatever biscuits I had in my kitchen and found a box of Family Circle biscuits my mom bought for me while she was here to visit. I used the chocolate stick one (the one right at the bottom of the picture).

Biscuits - Picture from Amazon

And why poppy seeds? I don’t know. You don’t have to have them. I just like poppy seeds. Maybe it’s because it’s banned in my home country and now that I’ve been exposed to them, I’m consuming them like a drug. Except I think you can’t get high on poppy seeds, can you?

Chocolate muffins with chocolate crunchy biscuits and … poppy seeds aka Muffin with whatever I can find in my kitchen

(Makes a dozen)

400g self raising flour or 400g flour + 3-4 tsp baking powder (yes, 3-4 is right)
200g caster sugar
250ml milk
As much chocolate as you want. I don’t use chocolate bars – I use chocolate that’s easily breakable
4 tbs poppy seeds (optional)
12 crunchy chocolate stick biscuits – they don’t have to be large – can also be any biscuit, as long as it’s crunchy
2 eggs, beaten

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Celsius. Don’t ask me what this is in Fahrenheit.

Mix the flour, baking powder, poppy seeds, milk, beaten eggs together with chocolate bits. Leave some chocolate behind.

Scoop the mixture onto your muffin tray until it’s about 1/3 full, then break the crunchy chocolate stick biscuits and put them in, before filling the muffin cup with more mixture. Sprinkle the reserved chocolate on top.

Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

