Surprise your boyfriend with this breakfast!

Now that I’ve got your attention, I’d like to introduce to you the Lazy Woman’s Guide to Making Decent Breakfasts. No, this doesn’t involve pancakes or anything worth comparing to a 5-star hotel’s breakfast buffet, but if your partner is anything like mine, he will appreciate it when you make the effort to make a simple but nice breakfast for him.

The best part of this breakfast is it will take you no longer than 10-15mins to make it.

Ready? Let’s go!

What you need:

* 2 eggs

* Croissants & jam (we love Bon Maman apricot jam)

* 10-15 prawns, 10 mussels, 8 squid (all to your discretion, my boyfriend loves prawns so we have a lot more here!)

The Boyfriend and I usually have croissants and scrambled eggs for breakfast. While he has kept me on the straight and narrow for almost a year now (no popcorn in the cinema, no McDonalds… well, I cheat sometimes when he’s not around hehe ;), no deep fried, oily, unhealthy stuff), he will not say no to a more than generous helping of eggs.

This time, I mixed it up a little by heating up some croissants and cooking scrambled eggs with prawns, mussels and squid (calamari).

Croissants are so easy to serve for breakfast. I usually buy a pack of eight from Waitrose. At less than 30cents for 1 croissant, it’s so much cheaper than going to a cafe and paying 1.50!

To cook croissants, put them in the oven and heat your oven to 150deg C for 10mins. The croissants will be crisp then. Tip: leave the croissant pack out on the kitchen counter instead of the fridge so your croissants will not taste “soft” after baking in the oven.

Because I love being efficient, I’d start preparing the omelette while my croissants are heating up. Meanwhile, I heat up the pan with some oil. After beating two eggs in a bowl and adding some milk, I pour the egg mixture into the pan and put the washed prawns, mussels and squid on top of the liquid egg. If you like some pepper, now would be a good time to add it on.

Here’s what my pan looks like:

This is the part when you can be lazy. Leave the pan for a while and let the egg cook for about three minutes (depending on how hot your pan is – I put mine on extreme heat), before flipping or mashing the omelette over. In my case, the Boyfriend realised I was cooking this and immediately wanted to chip in to help and we ended up with scrambled eggs instead of a seafood egg omelette. Thanks, darling!

So there you have it – a really easy to make breakfast in less than 15 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

