Life, et al

Pretty much where I hang out these days

It’s been ages since I last blogged, and it’s mostly because work has been slowly creeping into my life. I’m not hating it at all – actually, I’m pretty much enjoying the process of easing into my life here in London. Coming from a city I’ve pretty much lived in for slightly over two decades, I am still blown away by how culturally diverse London is. There is so much to offer, so much to explore, even though this is my fifth visit, I still am not bored!

The past two weeks has been incredibly hectic and phenomenal for both the boyfriend and I. He’s met my mom for a couple of times, and since my aunt just arrived a day ago to visit, we had lunch with her as well. So far, so good. I’ve also met his mom, who came over for a short visit. She’s really lovely and I’m glad that I managed to catch her before she left!

The boyfriend and I have also passed our six month mark and we’re incredibly happy about it (don’t ask – I don’t know why, we’re just happy). We haven’t had any major arguments, which I guess is just a consequence of six months of a couple’s “honeymoon” period. We definitely understand each other more now and I do still believe we make a good team. I don’t know what it is… that he’s not fazed by last minute arrangements to meet members of my family (my mom/my aunt), that he understands how pressurising/stressful my work is and gives me space, that he, despite having to do a ton of work, still has time for me. And every time I pick up the phone to call him, I feel like I’m 14 again.

We’re planning to do couples cooking soon – now he pretty much watches when I cook, or eats out for dinner (tut tut). So I’ve decided that we’re going to attempt something simple – spaghetti with king prawns. You can’t go wrong with spaghetti, right? Meanwhile, we’d not see each other for two weeks (!!) due to travelling on both our ends.

Till two weeks’ time!

Leave a Reply

