Another friend of mine is getting engaged

The whole world seems to be getting engaged/married at this point, even though in reality most of my friends aren’t. Just looking at some of us moving on to the next stage of our lives makes me wonder two things:

1. Why is everyone behaving like the world is ending in 2012?

2. Why are these boyfriends so eager to propose so early? (We’re all in our early twenties.)

The boyfriend is away for four days with his family, which means no talk and possibly no emails. It also means I’ll have more time to start packing and clearing my things. I hate this part; the part where I’d have to leave my family to be with him. I’m not unhappy, I’m just feeling sentimental about leaving friends and family behind and starting a whole new chapter with him.

The news of my friend getting engaged (today!) reminded me that she made the same decision to work elsewhere and have her boyfriend move over too. After a year of living abroad together, he proposed to her. If my relationship with the boyfriend works though, I know we won’t be getting married – not to even mention engaged – within the next year. There are just too many things we have to accomplish before that happens – for me, that means paying up for most of my new home.

These few months that we do spend apart has been enlightening. As much as each couple should stay together, I think time apart answers the question of if absence does make the heart grow fonder or if it makes the heart wander.

For now I’ll just go with the flow and see where life takes us. 18 more days – I can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

